ASD's Blueprint for Secure Cloud

Start Menu

This section describes the design decisions associated with the start menu on Windows 10 and 11 endpoints configured according to guidance in ASD's Blueprint for Secure Cloud.

Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

The Windows 10 Start Menu contains tiles that represent different programs that a user can launch by clicking on the tile. The Windows 11 Start Menu has been further updated to include both pinned applications and recommended documents by default.

The default Start Menu layout can be configured for all users that use the device. Applications can be pinned to the start menu by administrators to ensure a consistent user experience across the environment. There are three levels of enforcement which are possible within the start menu:

  • Full enforcement – The start menu is deployed centrally and cannot be altered by users in any way. Applications dictated by administrators are the only items which are present in the start menu.
  • Partial enforcement – The start menu is deployed centrally and can be altered by users. An application group is deployed for corporate shortcuts and users can then add applications to the start menu in a separate application group. The centrally deployed application group cannot be altered.
  • No enforcement – No start menu is defined centrally, and users can make any modification to the start menu.

Security & Governance

  • None identified


  • None identified


  • None identified


  • None identified

Do you have a suggestion on how the above page could be improved? Get in touch! ASD's Blueprint for Secure Cloud is an open source project, and we would love to get your input. Submit an issue on our GitHub, or send us an email at

Acknowledgement of Country icon

Acknowledgement of Country
We acknowledge the Traditional Owners and Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connections to land, sea and communities. We pay our respects to them, their cultures and their Elders; past, present and emerging. We also recognise Australia's First Peoples' enduring contribution to Australia's national security.

Authorised by the Australian Government, Canberra